• Thu. Sep 16th, 2021

The Daily News Box

News and Entertainment

Tirreno-Adriatico (E1): Ackermann wins in the sprint

ByRoborto Sykes

Sep 7, 2020

Traditionally taking place in March, almost at the same time as Paris-Nice, Tirreno-Adriatico had been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic. Recasting of the World Tour calendar requires, the “race of the two seas” finally takes place this week, in the middle of the Tour de France. At the start, we still find some big names in cycling, like Geraint Thomas, Chris Froome, Mathieu van der Poel, Jakob Fuglsang, Rafal Majka, Louis Meintjes, Simon Yates, Vincenzo Nibali, Michael Matthews or even Niki Terpstra, who are preparing for the Giro (October 3-25) or the Vuelta (October 20 – November 8). This Monday, the first stage consisted of two loops around Lido Di Camiore, in Tuscany. As expected, she fought in the sprint, and the victory went to the German Pascal Ackermann.

Rye eighth

The German sprinter from Bora-Hansgrohe went through a mouse hole, very close to the barriers, to come over the line to the Colombian Fernando Gaviria (UAE Emirates). This is his fifth victory of the season, after the Almeria Classic and a Tour of the Emirates stage in February and two Sibiu Tour stages in July. First Frenchman, Romain Seigle (Groupama-FDJ) took 8th place, while a fall in the last few hundred meters cut the peloton in two. The Swiss Simon Pellaud (Androni Giocatto) and the German Paul Martens (Jumbo-Visma) formed the breakaway of the day, but they were caught 15km from the finish. Tuesday, the stage will take the riders from Camaiore to Follonica, still in Tuscany and by the sea, over 198 relatively flat kilometers.

Classification of the 1st stage (Lido di Camaiore – Lido di Camaiore, 133km) – Monday September 7, 2020
1- Pascal Ackermann (ALL / Bora-Hansgrohe) in 2h57’55
2- Fernando Gaviria (COL / UAE Emirates) mt
3- Magnus Cort (DAN / Education First) mt
4- Szymon Sajnok (POL / CCC) mt
5- Davide Cimolai (ITA / Israel Start-Up Nation) mt

8- Romain Seigle (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) mt

General classification (after 1 out of 8 stages)
1- Pascal Ackermann (ALL / Bora-Hansgrohe) in 2h57’45
2- Fernando Gaviria (COL / UAE Emirates) at 4 “
3- Magnus Cort (DAN / Education First)) 6 “
4- Szymon Sajnok (POL / CCC) at 10 “
5- Davide Cimolai (ITA / Israel Start-Up Nation) at 10 “

8- Romain Seigle (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) at 10 “

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *