• Sun. Oct 17th, 2021

The Daily News Box

News and Entertainment

Pole position for Fabio Quartararo!

ByRoborto Sykes

Oct 10, 2020

Fabio Quartararo did not miss his day on Saturday. After a Friday behind on a track made difficult by the weather, the Yamaha rider Petronas revealed his game on the track of the Bugatti Circuit at Le Mans. Author of the fastest time in the third and then the fourth free practice session of the French MotoGP Grand Prix, the world championship leader was able to raise his voice when needed. Quickly at the top of the timesheet during the second part of the qualifying session, Fabio Quartararo saw in turn Maverick Viñales, Cal Crutchlow, Andrea Dovizioso and Francesco Bagnaia break their teeth on his time. But, in the last two minutes, Jack Miller sent a thrill to the paddock in Le Mans by beating the Frenchman. After seeing his penultimate lap canceled for going beyond the limits of the track, Fabio Quartararo gave everything in his last attempt.

Quartararo had the last word, Zarco was not unworthy, Mir will have to whip

The result was a lap of 1’31”315, or 222 thousandths of a second better than the mark of the future official Ducati rider. Jack Miller is just over a tenth ahead of the one he will replace in 2021, Danilo Petrucci. Ducati riders will be a serious threat for the Frenchman this Sunday at the start of the French Grand Prix. Cal Crutchlow, Maverick Viñales and Andrea Dovizioso will form the second row while Johann Zarco, who secured his place in Q2 in the third free practice session, clocked ninth just ahead of Valentino Rossi. A qualifying session that turned sour for Joan Mir. The runner-up to Fabio Quartararo in the championship standings, forced to go through Q1, did not pass the cut and will be 14th on the starting grid this Sunday. The Spaniard, who hoped to climb onto the first two rows before the start of the Sarthois weekend, will be off for a new comeback.

Qualifications 2 – Saturday October 10, 2020
1- Fabio Quartararo (FRA / Yamaha Petronas) in 1’31”315
2- Jack Miller (AUS / Ducati Pramac) at 0”222
3- Danilo Petrucci (ITA / Ducati) at 0”359
4- Cal Crutchlow (GBR / Honda LCR) at 0”371
5- Maverick Viñales (ESP / Yamaha) at 0”404
6- Andrea Dovizioso (ITA / Ducati) at 0”407
7- Francesco Bagnaia (ITA / Ducati Pramac) at 0”437
8- Pol Espargaro (ESP / KTM) at 0”480
9- Johann Zarco (FRA / Ducati Esponsorama Racing) at 0”515
10- Valentino Rossi (ITA / Yamaha) at 0”574
11- Franco Morbidelli (ITA / Yamaha Petronas) at 0”576
12- Miguel Oliveira (POR / KTM Tech 3) at 0”694