• Mon. Sep 20th, 2021

The Daily News Box

News and Entertainment

After A.Marquez, Nakagami puts Honda in the lead, Quartararo placed

ByRoborto Sykes

Oct 23, 2020
Motorland smiles at Honda! A week after Alex Marquez made a good comeback during the Aragon Grand Prix, the first day of free practice at the Teruel Grand Prix confirmed the good form of the drivers of the Hamamatsu firm. While the younger brother of Marc Marquez, once again absent, set the best time in the first free practice session, Takaaki Nakagami took over in the afternoon. The Japanese, who extended with Honda and will be Alex Marquez’s teammate in the LCR team in 2021 with the same equipment as Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro, got the best time of the day in 1’47 ‘ ‘782 thanks to a last stint which foreshadows the pace of qualifying this Saturday. A lap that allows him to lead Maverick Viñales by 175 thousandths while Cal Crutchlow confirmed the Honda’s form a little more with the third time 329 thousandths behind his teammate at LCR.

Quartararo regains rhythm

The Briton is just ahead of Fabio Quartararo. A week after a Grand Prix d’Aragon to forget, weighed down by a front tire with unsuitable pressure, and following a first free practice session during which he was very discreet, the Frenchman set the fourth fastest time and is 18 thousandths ahead of the new world championship leader, Joan Mir. The Spaniard passed Alex Marquez, who was one of two pilots who did not improve in the afternoon to his mark established in the morning. Jack Miller, only 18th overall in the two sessions, is the other driver not to have progressed in terms of time. Despite a promising start to the second session, Johann Zarco gradually fell back in the hierarchy during this second free practice session, ranking 13th overall. The Habs will have to whip this Saturday during the third session to hope to enter the Top 10 and go directly to Q2.

Cumulative ranking at the end of free practice 2 – Friday 23 October 2020
1- Takaaki Nakagami (JAP / Honda LCR) in 1’47”782
2- Maverick Viñales (ESP / Yamaha) at 0”175
3- Cal Crutchlow (GBR / Honda LCR) at 0”329
4- Fabio Quartararo (FRA / Yamaha Petronas) at 0”382
5- Joan Mir (ESP / Suzuki) at 0”400
6- Alex Marquez (ESP / Honda) at 0”402
7- Alex Rins (ESP / Suzuki) at 0”408
8- Iker Lecuona (ESP / KTM Tech 3) at 0”578
9- Aleix Espargaro (ESP / Aprilia) at 0”644
10- Pol Espargaro (ESP / KTM) at 0”657

13- Johann Zarco (FRA / Ducati Esponsorama Racing) at 0”750