• Mon. Sep 20th, 2021

The Daily News Box

News and Entertainment

XV de France – Autumn Nations Cup: Six changes in the squad for Fiji

ByRoborto Sykes

Nov 3, 2020

We expected a group to be almost unchanged, Fabien Galthié finally decided with six changes to prepare for the 1st meeting of the Autumn Nations Cup, against the Fijdi on November 15 in Vannes (4:15 p.m.). Thus, the coach of the XV of France has decided to rely largely on the players present during the victories against Wales (38-21) and Ireland (35-27), for a last match in accordance with the ‘FFR-LNR agreement. Among the group’s novelties, we therefore find Dorian Aldegheri, Teddy Baubigny, Cyril Cazeaux, Cameron Woki, Baptiste Couilloud and Julien Delbouis, four players who have no selection, while conversely, Georges-Henri Colombe, Peato Mauvaka, Killian Geraci, Baptiste Pesenti, Anthony Jelonch, François Cros, Baptiste Serin, Matthieu Jalibert and Olivier Klemenczak are for the moment absent this time.

Continuity before the workforce review

The group of 28 players to prepare Fiji is therefore expected this Thursday at Marcoussis, the training center of the Blues, and will normally see three additional elements arrive after the matches of the 8th day of the Top 14, which takes place this weekend. . Finally, the group will return to 28 players on November 11 or 12, with three players released and who will then return to their club. With this group, Galthié has therefore decided to focus on the first three matches of the XV of France and will therefore have to do a workforce review for the rest of the Autumn Nations Cup., during the matches against Scotland, Italy and possibly a big chunk afterwards for the classification match of the tournament (England, Ireland or Wales). Indeed, following the agreement between the French Rugby Federation and the National Rugby League, a player cannot make more than three match sheets this fall with the Blues.

The French group for Fiji:
Forwards: Dorian Aldegheri (Toulouse), Cyril Baille (Toulouse), Demba Bamba (Lyon), Jean-Baptiste Gros (Toulon), Mohamed Haouas (Montpellier), Teddy Baubigny (Racing 92), Camille Chat (Racing 92), Julien Marchand (Toulouse ), Cyril Cazeaux (Bordeaux-Bègles), Bernard Le Roux (Racing 92), Romain Taofifenua (Toulon), Paul Willemse (Montpellier), Grégory Alldritt (La Rochelle), Dylan Cretin (Lyon), Charles Ollivon (Toulon) and Cameron Woki (Bordeaux-Bègles)

Rear: Baptiste Couilloud (Lyon), Antoine Dupont (Toulouse), Romain Ntamack (Toulouse), Julien Delbouis (Stade Français), Gaël Fickou (Stade Français), Virimi Vakatawa (Racing 92), Arthur Vincent (Montpellier), Gabin Villière (Toulon) , Vincent Rattez (Montpellier), Arthur Retière (La Rochelle), Anthony Bouthier (Montpellier) and Thomas Ramos (Toulouse)