• Sun. Oct 17th, 2021

The Daily News Box

News and Entertainment

Manchester City win trio of Premier League awards

ByRoborto Sykes

Jun 6, 2021

After winning the Premier League title in 2020-21, Manchester City have now also cleared individual trophies for the season.

[ MORE: Full highlights, analysis of PL season ]

Pep Guardiola, Ruben Dias and Phil Foden won the Manager, Player and Young Player of the Season awards respectively, while fans voted through the official Premier League channels for these awards.

As good as City have been in 2020/21, two of the three awards have sparked a debate with Foden, who is seen as the best under-23 player in the Premier League.

As for the Manager of the Season award, many believe David Moyes should have won that accolade for guiding West Ham to sixth place, while many believed they would be relegation candidates.

Latest Premier League News

Transfer news: ‘optimism’ Sancho to Manchester United is growing Conte to Tottenham eliminated; what now for Spurs? PHOTOS: Ranking new Premier League kits for 2021-22

Guardiola is a genius, of course, but everyone expected City to win the title, and they did, as well as the League Cup and losing in the FA Cup semi-final and Champions League final to a resurgent Chelsea. If they had won the quadruple or even the triple, that was fair enough.

But based purely on Premier League impressions, West Ham were the big shocks, right?

Dias about Kane?

Harry Kane finished as the top goalscorer and top of the assist charts and also suggested he would win the Player of the Season award, but Dias has been rightly praised for his influence on City’s newfound defensive prowess after coming over from Benfica last summer.

Still, many believe Kane deserved this award and for what it’s worth, yours truly selected him as his Football Writers’ Association Player of the Season.

Rounding out the other award fans voted for, Erik Lamela’s ridiculous goal from Rabona for Tottenham at Arsenal in the North London derby was voted the best goal of 2020-21.

Here are the official 2020-21 Premier League winners in full

Player of the Season: Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
Manager of the season: Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
Young Player of the Season: Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Goal of the season: Erik Lamela (Tottenham)

Manchester City win trio of Premier League awards originally appeared on NBCSports.com